Board of Supervisors

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Member Term Expiration
Ron McCartney
December 31, 2018
Gary Bowden, Chairman
December 31, 2018
Ray Peterson, Vice Chairman December 31, 2020


The Board of Supervisors is the legislative body of the County and the following are some of its duties and powers:
  • Approves bonds of county officials
  • Establishes and vacates public highways
  • Levies taxes to produce revenue for county purposes
  • Allows claims against the county and orders them paid
  • Allows applications for Homestead, Military, and Family Farm Credit
  • Fills vacancies in county offices, except members of its own body
  • Canvasses the vote totals of elections
  • Approves all budgets of county
  • Appoints a County Engineer to supervise the county road system
  • Oversees the maintenance of the county buildings
  • Appoints all members to the following county boards:
    • Care Review
    • Conservation
    • Health
    • Zoning Board of Adjustment
  • Appoints individual members to the following boards:
    • Eminent Domain Compensation Commission
    • Civil Service
    • Compensation
    • Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission
Boards on which Mr. Bowden serves:
  • County Economic Development Board
    • County Economic Development Revolving Loan Board
    • County Economic Development Housing Advisory Committee
  • E-911 Board
  • Emergency Management Agency
    • County Disaster Recovery Committee
  • Northeast Iowa Agency on Aging
    • Northeast Iowa 3A Building Board
  • Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Board
  • Upper Explorerland Housing Authority
  • Winneshiek County Solid Waste Agency
  • Law Enforcement Center Building

Boards on which Mr. Peterson serves:

  • 1st Judicial District Department of Corrections Board
  • Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board
  • Iowa Workforce Development Board
  • Substance Abuse Services for Clayton County
  • Resource Conservation and Development Board
  • Turkey River Watershed Management Authority
  • Upper Explorerland Revolving Loan Fund Board
  • Scenic Acres Facility

Boards on which Mr. McCartney serves:
  • County Social Services Mental Health Region
  • Northeast Iowa Behavioral Health Center
  • Northeast Iowa Community Action Board
  • Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission
    • UERPC - Executive Board
  • Upper Explorerland Transportation Policy Board
  • HAWC Partnerships for Children
  • REAP
  • County Courthouse & Office Buildings
  • County Farmland