Clayton County, Iowa Mobile Access

Back Home


Linda Zuercher Photo

Linda Zuercher

County Treasurer

Office location:  Courthouse

Position: elected to four year terms

The County Treasurer is elected every four years at a general election and serves as the county finance officer.

The Treasurer is responsible for collection of taxes and other fees for state, county, city, school districts, community colleges, and other taxing bodies such as townships, fire districts, and drainage districts.

The Treasurer collects and accounts for all funds coming into the county from the various departments.

The County Treasurers’ Office is responsible for all motor vehicle transactions and issues driver licenses.

Tax Duties:

  • Preparing and mailing annual tax statements
  • Property tax collections
  • Tax apportionment to all taxing bodies
  • Investment of county funds
  • Balance financial records

Motor Vehicle Duties:

  • The State of Iowa Department of Transportation directs the County Treasurer as their agent to process motor vehicle transactions and collect appropriate fees according to the Code of Iowa (law).
  • Motor vehicle titling and registration and collection of New Registration fees (Use Tax).

Driver License Duties:

  • Issue Iowa driver licenses, identification cards, employee identification cards and handicapped parking permits; conduct written testing and road tests for vehicles and motorcycles.


Contact Information

New Taxes Available

Tax statements have been sent to the printing service and will be mailed soon.  You can view your new statements now at and the Assessor's Beacon website.

Property Taxes Certified

Property taxes are now certified and can be paid anytime.  You may pay in the office, by mail, or online at
Statements will be mailed shortly.