School Election

School elections are held in September to elect school board members and community college directors. Instructional support levy measures are often included in school elections. School board elections used to be held every year. School elections cannot be combined with any other type of election. Many voters have a different polling place for school elections than for all other elections.

Some school districts in Clayton County are primarily located in other counties. Elections for each district are administered by one county, called the "control county." For information about other school boards or school elections for districts that include parts of Clayton County, please contact the following County Auditor's offices:

  • Edgewood-Colesburg School - Delaware County Auditor, Phone: 563-927-4701
  • Postville School - Allamakee County Auditor, Phone: 563-568-3522
  • Valley School - Fayette County Auditor, Phone: 563-422-3497
  • Western Dubuque School - Dubuque County Auditor, Phone: 563-589-4499

View Candidate Information and Signature Requirements

For additional information on school elections, please visit the Iowa Secretary of State Schools page.

Seats Available

The candidates that have filed are listed below with incumbents indicated by an asterisk (*)
View Sample Ballots in the Archive Center.

Central Community School (Four Seats)
  • Amy Pope
  • Ed Hertrampf*
  • Jered Finley*
  • Taylor Alexie
Clayton Ridge Community School (Three Seats) 
  • Katherine A. Ihde*
  • Michael W. Finnegan*
MFL MarMac Community School (Four Seats)
  • Brian Meyer*
  • Gina Roys*
  • Jonathon Moser*
  • Josh Grau*
Starmont Community School (Two Seats)
  • Darren West*
  • Douglas Puffett*
  • Robert Pope
Starmont To Fill Vacancy (One Seat)
  • Julie Uhlenkamp
Northeast Iowa Community College - District 4 (One Seat)
  • Gene L. Fuelling